navigating

24 April, 2010 at 2:20 am (art, blue-eyed crow, life, work) (, , , , , , , , )

I love all kinds of maps, and I have been fussing with this one off and on for a while without being sure where exactly to go with these constellations. They may be put aside to be part of a series of maps and charts that has been in the back of my mind for a while.

It’s hard to concentrate lately because of some frustrating technical problems, I love solving problems when it comes to building the metal boxes, figuring out different ways of making hinges and new hidden compartments, but when it comes to materials difficulties when I’m working with the 2D pieces I have no patience at all.

Sometimes when I am working out how to build one of kinetic pieces it makes me sad that my grandfather died before I could show him the things I make. Pictures weren’t his thing, although his family included many artists he was an inventor, and when he saw problems and inefficiencies he automatically started coming up with solutions. When I’m building something the technical difficulties are often my favourite parts of the process, various solutions are getting worked out in the back of my mind day and night, and I love the continual challenge after challenge until the let-down when it’s completed.

2 Comments

  1. kat said,

    old maps make me swoon!

    i would like to have met your grandfather; he sounds interesting.

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    Aren’t they great? Since I’ve always lived near the ocean I especially love old charts, the really old ones with sea monsters, dolphins and other pictures are so cool.

    My grandfather wasn’t charming or full of small talk, but he was very sharp and led an interesting life. One of his hobbies was flying, and one summer when I was little he mailed me a jar that had pressed larkspur, other wildflowers and a gold flake attached to the inside from up in the Yukon, where he used to go sometimes to pan for gold.

Leave a Reply

