stairway

27 August, 2009 at 9:30 pm (art, blue-eyed crow, work) (, , , , , , , , )

windowgazecrow2

I have to do some writing about my work and I’m dreading it.  I don’t feel very articulate about what I do, and I don’t have a clear idea of what people want to know about me or my art.  I did brainstorm a list of stuff about the work I’m currently doing, maybe I need a ghost-writer to shape it.  I wonder if people still hire ghost-writers, it seems such an old-fashioned term.

I’m not a writer at heart (I used to say I avoid writing the way I avoid cutting myself with knives, that is, sometimes it happens despite my best efforts), so it has surprised me how much I enjoy publishing a blog, but my posts do tend to be pretty brief.

8 Comments

  1. kat said,

    you can do it!

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    Thank you for the confidence! A nice person on FB saw the post and asked me about size, finish and materials, so that got me started anyway.

  3. Derek Hodkin said,

    truth to tell I do like this one . . haven’t had time to assimilate that other pieces – fragments, palimpsests or whatever they may be called . . ‘pictures’ maybe and why not – oeuvres maybe . . .as you are actually IN France right now. OK will pay more attention from hereon. I too am sure that you can write – I love it (prefer speech of course) and if only I could do it in French . .these screens would never be large enough!! OK back to ‘le bois de chauffage’ . . .

  4. blue-eyed crow said,

    Derek, I wasn’t expecting you to be sympathetic – you’ve written, what, seven books to do with art? (I am enjoying the one I’m reading, by the way.) If you start writing in French too I’ll have to read even faster to keep up!
    I am glad you like this piece, the others will patiently wait for you to finish with the firewood.

  5. Richard said,

    Well if you want an objective, clear, concise, opinion, then I’m your guy (umm I don’t do stylistic editing btw). 😉

  6. blue-eyed crow said,

    Hi Richard: I am trying to figure out what, as an art buyer, do you want to know about an artist, both personally and philosophically? How much, and what, does a potential buyer like to know about the choices an artist makes when choosing images, materials, etc.? If you have any thoughts on this, or other issues, please feel free to ask away either here, or privately. Any ideas are very welcome!

  7. Richard said,

    I just sent you an email trying to address the issues you raised! How are my girls doing? I loved being “Him”!

  8. blue-eyed crow said,

    Bisous – thank you again for your lengthy reply, it was very helpful! We are happy French villagers, but are packing, preparing to be Irish castle residents for a week (then we will join my aunt and be English villagers).
    Being that you are tall, dark, and handsome calling you ‘Him’ just adds to the mystery…

Leave a Reply

