more

12 January, 2009 at 10:53 pm (blue-eyed crow, jewellery, work) (, , , , , , )

dsc_0605aaaaa

I’ve been working on earrings and necklaces and besides the beautiful creamy pearls I normally use I’ve made a few pieces with some delightfully shaped freshwater pearls that are barely blue (they also look great with steel wire).  I was on such a copper+pearl binge that I am now out of several gauges of copper wire and all but the tiniest pearls.

Tomorrow I’ll be working with some lovely smoky crystals and gold wire.

dsc_0609aa

10 Comments

  1. Walter Hartright said,

    Very nice! But the contrast of the white pearls and copper wire is special. Do you specialize in this medium? I can’t tell. Your blog is a pastiche of interesting bits, and I was wondering if you are specializing in a particular medium such as pearls & copper; pearls and silver or pearls and gold? I’m glad I ran into this blog. 😉

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    Thank you! and I’m sorry that my blog is so terribly unfocussed and that I usually forget to post photos of finished pieces. Mostly what I do is combine very different things, so I do assemblage (some pictures of the first stages of my boxes and other work are posted on the 30th of September, the 3rd, 6th and 11th of October, the 25th of November, and 1st of January) using mostly vintage or antique materials. I also take my photos (some are posted on the 24th of October, and 6th of December) and combine them with my drawings (and sometimes the old botanical texts that I adore) into digital collages (like on the 26th, 28th, and 30th of November, and the 1st and 24th of December). I forge steel wire for the assemblages and jewellery, and use copper wire-wrapped pearls in both assemblages and jewellery. Then I get distracted by archaeological discoveries and reconstructions (like the Antikythera Mechanism videos I posted on the 30th of October and the 11th of December), astrolabes, or the work of Hero of Alexandria (future post), and wander off topic. Your question has reminded me that I need to make a greater effort to show my work, as it were. 🙂

  3. kat said,

    gorgeous!!!!!!!!!

  4. blue-eyed crow said,

    I’m glad you like them. I’m thinking of using flat wire for the next batch for a different look.

  5. Walter Hartright said,

    I looked at your bottom photo again and I thought it was a necklace but then upon a further glance I realized I didn’t know if it was a braclet or a necklace. Then it came to me, will you be making “sets” of these pearl with copper wire? (e.g. earings, necklace and bracelet?) I think a sets would be a great seller, especially incntivizing it with a discount with a set. Thoughts?

  6. blue-eyed crow said,

    I agree! I do make sets, when they are chunky like these pieces they look best worn incomplete (e.g. earring with bracelet, or just the necklace). My sets are often slender and simple, like a wrapped pearl on the end of a chain for the earrings, a few wrapped pearls with one dangling for the necklace, and alternated wrapped pearls and chain for the bracelet.
    (The piece at the bottom of this post is a necklace.)
    I’m in the midst of a completely different project right now, but will post pictures of a complete wrapped pearl set in a couple weeks.

  7. maltagirl said,

    oh girl, i am in serious need of steel and pearls.

  8. blue-eyed crow said,

    Good, because I can help you with that! In March, when I get back from my travels, I’ll be doing a lot more pieces with pearls and wire. Plus I have some more of the big smoky crystals, amethyst, and a big teardrop of jade somewhere around here.

  9. paper2yarn said,

    they are beautiful!!

  10. keenbeen said,

    oooooohhhh, I like these.

Leave a Reply

