not sisters

13 November, 2008 at 7:35 pm (ancient devices, life) (, , , , , )

sisters

This map is so beautiful, I was happy to hear that more investigations at the site indicate its true status.  Mr Hitchcock has compiled some articles on it here, he also has a page of hoaxes, including Piltdown Man, a childhood favourite of mine.

Years ago I visited a house outside London that had a display of silver and other items that had spent years in a closet because they were forgeries.  The family decided that besides being beautiful, the stories of the hoaxes were interesting, so they revealed all, a bold move.

I loved the Voynich Manuscript the first time I saw it, even though I was sure it was a fake.  Besides its beauty, the fact that it is a forgery makes it fascinating, I keep wishing more information would turn up.

vine

2 Comments

  1. Mike Jennings said,

    This blog is turning out to be an incredible resource for fascinating artifacts and pseudoartifacts. The Voynich manuscript is the only one I’ve heard of so far and I have loved ALL of the mysterious and anomalous artifacts you’ve called out.

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    I’m so glad you like them! Sometimes I just get blank looks when I talk about things I find interesting. Some of my other favourite topics – the forgery & theft of art, young men trekking through dangerous jungles to collect rare orchids (tomorrow’s post), curiosity cabinets, and 16th & 17th C science in France and Italy get equally blank looks. I guess that is part of why I adore Sir Ken Robinson’s TEDtalk that I posted about last month – you can never predict what he is going be on about next.

Leave a Reply

