parallel

2 November, 2008 at 8:49 pm (blue-eyed crow, family, work) (, , , , , , , , )

I just got back from a long walk with the hounds, so dog bodies are strewn all over the rug and they are ready to let me work on this crow.  When I was little and visiting my dad’s relatives in New Mexico I loved their tiny old adobe houses and the beehive ovens outside.  That was the first time I saw a crucified Christ figure, which had quite an effect on the drawings I did at the time.  The pottery had a longer influence though, the full shape of the pots and bowls, the limited colour palette, and the animals and designs all filled with fine lines.

2 Comments

  1. Shannon said,

    Your dad had relatives in New Mexico? I didn’t know that!

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    Yes, mostly in Santa Fe. I was told that the relatives who came to the States generations ago got on the train, and stayed on until the end of the line, where they stayed. Living in adobe houses surrounded by desert does seem an odd situation for an Irish family.

Leave a Reply

