heavy

11 October, 2008 at 7:07 am (art, blue-eyed crow, work) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

The retreat is over and I’m here to testify that luggage filled with tools is heavy.  Very heavy.  But the steel bench vise did come in handy!  The retreat was fantastic, being with other artists is energizing, but I have a hard time creating around other people, so I didn’t have to worry about carefully packing up a lot of delicate finished pieces for the trip back.  Just heavy tools.  Did I mention the bench vise includes an anvil?

The box in the photo is a simple one, I love the face.  I’m trying to find more of these vintage white tins, they are by far my favourites.

In my eternal search for tools I have not been able to find anyone locally who carries a riveting hammer that is steel and has a round head, so I’m off to order one on-line because my next projects involve a lot of riveting.

6 Comments

  1. kat said,

    ooh i like that box!

    i’m so glad you’re home 🙂

  2. blue-eyed crow said,

    I love this one, even though it doesn’t have any tricks (one part spins, that’s all), the face and innards were both strong visually and the wear on each is just right.

    I’m glad to be back and get to work using what I learned, the painting techniques I learned from DeMeng will be the biggest change in my work.

  3. Mike Jennings said,

    Well, I’ll tell you, I’m much obliged to you for bringing that vise. That must have been miserable to schlep but it was the only way I was going to bend that annealed wrench.

  4. blue-eyed crow said,

    I want to thank you again for providing a flame that Hephaestus would have envied! You used it well with your sculpture. I’m going to try to get the photos posted by tomorrow (the 14th).

  5. bev said,

    Love this picture! Is that a little metal shell in there?? How very cool! Keep up the great work!

  6. blue-eyed crow said,

    Thanks, I’m glad you like it! The shell isn’t metal but the colours and sheen seemed to fit with the rest of the piece, it wandered over from the materials pile for another project.

Leave a Reply

